

The Fifth IEEE International Workshop on Multimedia Technologies for E-Learning (MTEL)

in conjunction with the IEEE International Symposium on Multimedia 2010 (ISM2010)

December 13-15, 2010, Taichung, Taiwan

http://www.virtuos.uni-osnabrueck.de/pub/conferences/mtel-2010/cfp.html

Call for Papers

The workshop topics include but are not limited to:

Lecture Recording, Multimedia Authoring & Classroom Methodology

- Automated lecture recording and presentation techniques
- Classroom note taking and whiteboard capturing and analysis
- Multimedia authoring software for e-learning

• Information Retrieval & Search in Multimedia

- Multimedia information retrieval
- Automated lecture analysis and indexing
- Intelligent searching and navigation in elearning portals

Experiments, Laboratories & Virtual Reality

- Simulations, animations, and virtual laboratories in teaching
- Virtual reality and augmented reality in education

Multimedia Architectures & Repositories

- Repositories for multimedia education
- Architectures for User Tracking
- Technical infrastructures for large scale web lecture repositories

Semantic Multimedia in e-Learning Scenarios

- Automated analysis of learning and teaching interactions
- Implicit and explicit learner feedback

Workshop Proceedings

Workshop papers will be official publications of IEEE which will be included in IEEEXplore and also be available as printed workshop proceedings. A number of selected papers will be invited for extension and publication in a special issue of ITSE (International Journal of Interactive Technology and Smart Education) published by Emerald.

Submission Details

Papers must be original and not submitted to or accepted by any other conference or journal. Papers should be submitted in electronic form as PDF file to the organizers. Submissions must be formatted according to the 8.5x11 inch double column IEEE CS proceedings format and must not exceed 6 pages.

Important Dates

Submission due: July 26, Aug 02, 2010
Notification: September 3, 2010
Camera-Ready due: September 24, 2010

Co-Chairs

MARKUS KETTERL, Zentrum Virtuos LARS KNIPPING, Berlin Inst. of Technology NADINE LUDWIG, Hasso Plattner Institute ROBERT MERTENS, Fraunhofer IAIS

Advisory Chair

GERALD FRIEDLAND, ICSI Berkeley

Program Committee

MICHAEL AUER, Univ. of Appl. Sciences Kärnten OLIVER BRDICZKA, Palo Alto Research Center HELMAR BURKHART, Univ. of Basel CHRISTOPHER BROOKS, Univ. of Saskatchewan PAUL DICKSON, Univ. of Massachusetts SABINA JESCHKE, Univ. of Stuttgart WOLFGANG HÜRST, Utrecht Univ. ULRICH KORTENKAMP, Univ. of Karlsruhe FLEMING LAMPI, Kavisio YING LI, IBM TJ Watson Research Center THOMAS RICHTER, Univ. of Stuttgart JÜRGEN STEIMLE, Darmstadt Inst. of Technology GEORG TURBAN, Darmstadt Inst. of Technology DOMINIQUE VAUFREYDAZ, Univ. Pierre-Mendès HEINZ-DIETRICH WUTTKE, Ilmenau Inst. of Techn. PETER ZIEWER, Munich Inst. of Technology