



## FERMAT PRIZE FOR MATHEMATICS RESEARCH

## **UNIVERSITÉ PAUL SABATIER**

## **2007 AWARD**

The FERMAT PRIZE rewards research works in fields where the contributions of Pierre de FERMAT have been decisive:

- \* Statements of Variational Principles
- \* Foundations of Probability and Analytical Geometry
- \* Number theory.

The spirit of the prize is focused on rewarding the results of researches accessible to the greatest number of professional mathematicians within these fields.

The amount of the Fermat prize has been fixed at 20 000 Euros. The FERMAT prize is awarded once every two years in Toulouse; the tenth award will be announced in October 2007.

Winners of the preceding editions: A. Bahri, K.A. Ribet (1989) – J.-L. Colliot-Thélène (1991) – J.-M. Coron (1993) – A.J. Wiles (1995) – M. Talagrand (1997) – F. Bethuel, F. Hélein (1999) – R. L. Taylor, W. Werner (2001) – L. Ambrosio (2003) – P. Colmez, J.-F. Le Gall (2005).

Rules governing the award, candidacy formalities, etc. are available from the organising secretariat of the Fermat prize:

Prix FERMAT de Recherche en Mathématiques Service Communication Université Paul Sabatier 31062 TOULOUSE Cedex 9, France

or on the web <a href="http://www.math.ups-tlse.fr/Fermat/">http://www.math.ups-tlse.fr/Fermat/</a>

Closing date for application forms: **30 June 2007**.