

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

The 2006 André-Aisenstadt Prize is Awarded Jointly to Iosif Polterovich of the University of Montreal, and Tai-Peng Tsai of the University of British Columbia

Montreal, QC -- December 2005 -- The Director of Centre de recherches mathématiques of the University of Montreal is pleased to announce the nomination of two 2006 André-Aisenstadt Prize recipients, namely, Iosif Polterovich (University of Montreal) and Tai-Peng Tsai (University of British Columbia).

Iosif Polterovich (University of Montreal)

After obtaining his Master's degree from Moscow State University in 1995, Dr. Polterovich obtained his doctorate from the Weizmann Institute in 2000. Following postdoctoral experiences at the CRM, MSRI and the Max Planck Institute, Dr. Polterovich began a tenure track position at the University of Montreal, in 2002.

Dr. Polterovich works in geometric spectral theory, his broad variety of results being notable for both their importance and novelty. Perhaps most exciting was Polterovich's announcement in 2000 of an "explicit" formula for the heat invariants of a Riemannian manifold; these geometric invariants had been studied for more than fifty years, yet Polterovich presented them in a striking and useful way, which will undoubtedly be central to much forthcoming research by him and others.

Tai-Peng Tsai (University of British Columbia)

After completing his B.Sc. at the National Taiwan University in 1991, Dr. Tsai obtained his Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota in 1998 under the supervision of Vladimir Sverak. Following a three year postdoc at the Courant Institute, and a further year at the Institute for Advanced Study, Dr. Tsai began as an assistant professor at UBC in 2002.

Dr. Tsai is an outstanding researcher in non-linear partial differential equations. In recent work with Kang and Gustafson, Tsai obtained the optimal partial regularity

result for the incompressible Navier-Stokes equation. Even more remarkably he proved the non-existence of self-similar blow-up solutions (as proposed by Leray in 1934) with finite local energy in three dimensions. Tsai has also embarked on a deep and detailed study of long-time asymptotics in nonlinear Schrödinger equations with several coauthors. These papers reveal a variety and subtlety of behaviours, and are becoming quite influential.

The André-Aisenstadt Mathematics Prize is awarded to recognize talented young Canadian mathematicians that are chosen by CRM's advisory committee. Awarded for research achievement in pure and applied mathematics, it consists of a \$ 3 000 award and a medal. This year's recipients were preceded by fifteen former winners since the creation of the Prize in 1991. The 2005 winner was Ravi Vakil (Stanford).

At the time of consideration, candidates must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada, and no more than seven years from their Ph.D. A condition of acceptance of the prize is that recipients deliver a lecture at CRM. These lectures will be presented on April 28, 2006.

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) of the University of Montreal was founded in 1969. Currently under the direction of professor François Lalonde, the Centre's mandate is to serve as a national centre for fundamental research in mathematics and their applications. The CRM's scientific personnel includes more than one hundred members and post-doctoral fellows. Further, the Centre hosts from year to year a large number of guest researchers.

Contact information:

François Lalonde, Director Centre de recherches mathématiques Pavillon André-Aisenstadt, Université de Montréal 2920 Chemin de la tour, room 5357 Montréal (Québec) H3T 1J4 Phone : (514) 343-7502 www.crm.umontreal.ca director@crm.umontreal.ca

###